Menstrual health and hygiene in West and Central Africa …

We talk about it? 

Event: participate in our webinar on December 9, 2020

HIGH LEVEL POLICY DIALOGUE ON THE REVIEW OF MENSTRUAL HEALTH AND HYGIENE POLICIES

What are we talking about?

Menstrual Hygiene and Management (MHM) focuses on the hygiene practices used by girls. Menstrual health and hygiene encompass more broadly all the health, psychological, socio-political and environmental factors associated with menstruation.

These systematic factors have been summarized by UNESCO as follows: accurate and timely knowledge; materials available, safe and affordable; informed and comfortable professionals; orientation and access to health services; sanitary and washing facilities; positive social norms; safe and hygienic disposal; and advocacy and policies.

Access for women and girls to menstrual health and hygiene is essential to the achievement of the SDGs and the African Union’s 2063 agenda “The Africa We Want”.

A simple biological fact turned into an obstacle to gender equality and the development of girls

Almost every woman and girl (from menarche to menopause) will have her period on average every 28 days for about 5 days for an average of 36 years. Menstruation begins between 10 and 16 years old (in some exceptional cases from 7-8 years old) and ends on average around 50 years old. During their lifetime, between puberty and menopause, girls and women average their period for about 3,000 days.

However, women and girls may be deprived of some basic human rights, including those relating to education, work and health, which turns a simple biological fact into an obstacle to gender equality. .

While menstruation is a biological process, in many countries it is considered a taboo. Without information, protection and hygiene, the well-being and health of women are sometimes endangered.

Menstruation, a natural phenomenon, remains a taboo subject that hinders the life of young girls and women.

Obstruction of access to information:

In West and Central Africa, large numbers of girls and women lack access to appropriate information, adequate sanitation and menstrual health products that are accessible, comfortable, convenient, affordable and safe to use. . This situation is all the more aggravated for young girls and women living in precariousness, in remote areas, isolated and / or having been displaced or affected by emergency situations.

For lack of information, menarche, the first decisive experience, is often a missed appointment with serious implications.

The first period is a difficult, even traumatic, experience for most girls. This situation is mainly due to the lack of knowledge about the rules; due to lack of information, they are neither psychologically nor materially prepared for the onset of their period. Young girls do not have absorbents, which can lead to inappropriate practices (use of inadequate protective materials); Without information and protection, young girls may experience this first episode of their life as a trauma (stained clothes and mockery from classmates).

Obstruction of freedoms and education:

In many societies in West and Central Africa, periods are the subject of negative socio-cultural perceptions associated with impurity or filth. Many prohibitions, social or religious limit women’s access to certain activities or places (isolation, restrictions on food or activities, or participation in prayer, for example).

It hinders the daily activities of girls and women, leads to stigma and discrimination, isolates them from their friends and local communities, increases the risk of absenteeism and dropping out of school.

The lack of infrastructure for girls’ menstrual hygiene fosters bad practices and contributes to school absenteeism.

Adequate health infrastructure, that is to say clean, respectful of privacy and secure, is essential for better management of girls’ menstrual hygiene. The unavailability of suitable infrastructure, both at home and at school, explains some poor menstrual hygiene practices. In some cases, women and girls have no access to sanitary protection.

They may resort to the use of rags, leaves, newspaper or other makeshift materials to absorb the menstrual blood. They can also leak blood, which causes shame and embarrassment. Young girls unable to change absorbent at school for lack of adequate sanitary facilities (lack of privacy) or unsanitary or insufficiently secure absenteeism for part of the school day or the entire period of their menstruation.

Menstrual hygiene products are essential products.

to know

%

of the population of West and Central Africa is under 24

%

of girls are married before the age of 15

%

girls have had sex

%

without using contraceptive methods

A symposium

  • A virtual conference organized on the occasion of International Day of the Girl 2020 (IDG 2020, October 11) on October 12 from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. GMT. This year’s theme for IDG2020, “My Voice, Equality for Our Future,” will focus on re-imagining a world shaped by the voice, vision and solutions of adolescent girls.
  • A 2-day symposium, which will take place in May 2021, on the occasion of the International SHM Day. This face-to-face symposium (subject to the health situation) will bring together the various actors on SHM at the regional level in order to collectively identify the means to strengthen the programming and promotion of SHM in the region.

partners

I share the call- #letstalkperiod

Inequality and injustice: although natural, menstruation puts girls and women at high risk and puts many of their universally recognized human rights at risk.

RELAY THE MESSAGE: #letstalkperiod

Contact us

To contact us, it’s very simple, complete the form below and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

La santé et l’hygiène menstruelles en Afrique de l’ouest et centrale…

On en parle ?

Symposium virtuel du 25 au 27 mai 2021

De quoi parle t’on ?

La gestion et hygiène menstruelles (GHM) met l’accent sur les pratiques d’hygiène utilisées par les filles. La santé et l’hygiène menstruelles englobent de manière plus large l’ensemble des facteurs sanitaires, psychologiques, sociopolitiques et environnementaux liés aux menstruations.

Ces facteurs systématiques ont été résumés par l’UNESCO comme suit : connaissances exactes et opportunes ; matériels disponibles, sûrs et abordables ; professionnels informés et à l’aise ; orientation et accès aux services de santé ; installations sanitaires et de lavage ; normes sociales positives ; élimination sûre et hygiénique ; et plaidoyer et politiques.

L’accès des femmes et des filles à la santé et hygiène menstruelles est essentiel à la réalisation des ODD et l’agenda 2063 de l’Union Africaine « The Africa We Want ».

Un simple fait biologique transformé en un obstacle à l’égalité des sexes et à l’épanouissement des filles

Presque chaque femme et chaque fille (de la ménarche à la ménopause) aura ses règles en moyenne tous les 28 jours pendant environ 5 jours durant en moyenne 36 ans. Les menstruations commencent entre 10 et 16 ans (dans certains cas exceptionnels à partir de 7- 8 ans) et se terminent en moyenne autour de 50 ans.  Au cours de leur vie, entre la puberté et la ménopause, les filles et les femmes ont en moyenne leurs menstruations pendant environ 3 000 jours.

Pour autant, les femmes et les filles peuvent se voir privées de certains droits humains fondamentaux, y compris ceux relatifs à l’éducation, au travail et à la santé, ce qui transforme un simple fait biologique en un obstacle à l’égalité des sexes.

Si les menstruations sont un processus biologique, dans de nombreux pays, elles sont considérées comme un tabou. A défaut d’information, de protection et d’hygiène, le bien-être et la santé des femmes sont parfois mis en péril.

Les menstruations, phénomène naturel, reste pour autant un sujet tabou qui entrave toute la vie des jeunes filles et des femmes

Entrave de l’accès à l’information :

En Afrique l’Ouest et du Centre, un grand nombre de filles et de femmes n’ont pas accès à des informations appropriées, à des installations sanitaires adéquates et à des produits de santé menstruels accessibles, confortables, pratiques, abordables et sûrs à utiliser. Cette situation est d’autant plus aggravée pour les jeunes filles et femmes vivant dans la précarité, dans des zones reculées, isolées et/ou ayant été déplacées ou touchées par des situations d’urgence.

Faute d’information, la ménarche, première expérience décisive, est souvent un RDV manqué avec de lourdes implications

Les premières règles sont pour la plupart des filles une expérience difficile, voire traumatisante. Cette situation est due principalement au manque de connaissances sur les règles ; faute d’informations, elles ne sont préparées ni psychologiquement ni matériellement à l’arrivée de leurs menstruations. Les jeunes filles ne disposent pas d’absorbants ce qui peut engendrer des pratiques inappropriées (usage des matériels de protection inadéquats) ; Faute d’information et de protection, les jeunes filles peuvent vivre ce premier épisode de leur vie comme un traumatisme (vêtements tachés et moqueries des camarades de classe).

Entrave aux libertés et la scolarisation :

Dans beaucoup de sociétés dans l’Afrique de l’Ouest et du Centre, les règles sont l’objet de perceptions socio-culturelles négatives, associées à l’impureté ou à la saleté. De nombreux interdits, sociaux ou religieux limitent l’accès des femmes à certaines activités ou lieux (isolement, restrictions alimentaires ou d’activités, ou participation à la prière, par exemple).

Cela entrave les activités quotidiennes des filles et des femmes, conduit à la stigmatisation et à la discrimination, les isole de leurs amis et des communautés locales, augmente le risque d’absentéisme et d’abandon scolaire

Le manque d’infrastructures pour l’hygiène menstruelle des filles forge les mauvaises pratiques et contribue à l’absentéisme scolaire.

Les infrastructures sanitaires adéquates c’est-à-dire propres, respectant l’intimité et sécurisées, sont essentielles pour une meilleure gestion de l’hygiène menstruelle des filles. L’indisponibilité d’infrastructures adaptées, tant à la maison qu’à l’école, expliquent certaines mauvaises pratiques en matière d’hygiène menstruelle. Dans certains cas, les femmes et filles n’ont aucun accès aux protections hygiéniques. Elles peuvent avoir recours à l’utilisation de chiffons, de feuilles, de papier journal ou d’autres matériaux de fortune pour absorber le sang menstruel. Elles peuvent aussi avoir des fuites de sang, ce qui provoque honte et gêne. Les jeunes filles dans l’impossibilité de changer d’absorbant à l’école faute d’installation sanitaire adéquate (manque d’intimité) ou d’insalubrité ou insuffisamment sécurisés s’absentent pendant une partie de la journée scolaire ou toute la période de leur menstruation.

Les produits d’hygiène menstruelle sont des produits de première nécessité.

A savoir

%

de la population d’Afrique de l’Ouest et Centrale a moins de 24 ans

%

des filles sont mariées avant l’âge de 15 ans

%

des filles ont déjà eu des rapports sexuels

%

sans utiliser de méthodes contraceptives

Un symposium

  • Une conférence virtuelle organisée à l’occasion de la Journée internationale de la fille 2020 (IDG 2020, 11 octobre) le 12 octobre de 11h à 13h GMT. Le thème de cette année pour IDG2020, « Ma voix, l’égalité pour notre avenir», sera axé sur la ré-imagination d’un monde façonné par la voix, la vision et les solutions des adolescentes.
  • Un symposium de 2 jours, qui aura lieu en mai 2021, à l’occasion de la journée internationale de la SHM. Ce symposium en présentiel (sous réserve de la situation sanitaire) réunira les différentes acteur.rice.s sur la SHM au niveau régional afin d’identifier collectivement les moyens de renforcer la programmation et la promotion de la SHM dans la région.

Les partenaires

Je partage l’appel- #SoyonsReglos

Inégalité et injustice : bien que naturel, les menstruations exposent les filles et les femmes à un nombre élevé de risques et mettent en péril nombreux de leurs droits fondamentaux, universellement reconnus. 

RELAYONS LE MESSAGE : #SoyonsReglos 

Contactez-nous

Pour nous contacter, c’est très simple, complétez le formulaire ci-dessous et nous vous répondrons dans les meilleurs délais.